Research Awards

Awardees Till Date

The Society's activities started with this event in 2001. The event was earlier held only in AP and awards were given only in the field of Chemistry. Now it has been expanded to include other basic sciences of Physics, Biology and Mathematics. Also the programme has been extended to the states of Telangana, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu. It is proposed to expand to include Kerala also from the year, 2016-17.

The awards are presented to young scientists, below 30 years of age, from various branches of basic sciences every year. The award carries a cash award of Rs. 20,000/= only and a trophy for the winner and a cash award of Rs.10,000/= only and a trophy to the runners-up in each category

Process of Application

Dr.K.V.Rao Scientific Society invites Applications for the Annual Research Awards from young research scientists working in the fields of

  • Chemistry which includes Biochemistry, Environmental Chemistry, Geochemistry, Chemical membranes, Marine Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Polymers, and related fields.
  • Physics which includes Material Science, Solid State Physics, Nano Technology, Computational Physics, Particle Physics, Laser Optics and related fileds.
  • Biological Sciences which includes Pharmaceutical Sciences, Genetics, Plant Sciences, Medicine, Agriculture, Nutrition, Cellular Biology, Microbiology and related fileds, and
  • Mathematics which includes Algebra, Geometry, Applied Mathematics, Complex Analysis, Calculus, Statistics and Probability and related fields.

Eligibility Criteria:
The Candidate applying for the Research Award

--> Should have completed or should be carrying out research work in any of the Universities / Deemed Universities / other Research Institutions situated in the States of Andhra Pradesh/ Telangana/ Karnataka/Tamil Nadu/Kerala and should be a registered student in any recognized University in India. (Candidates registered in any recognized University in Andhra Pradesh/ Telangana/ Karnataka/ Tamil Nadu/Kerala and working in any University / Research Institutions anywhere in India are also eligible.

-->Should have registered for PhD for at least two years before applying. (Date will be specified on release of application form for that year)

--> The research paper to be presented for the award should be part of his / her doctoral research work carried out or being carried out by the candidate. A certificate from the supervisor to this effect is to be submitted along with the application.

--> Should be under 30 years of age as on 31st December of the current academic year.


The students for awards are selected based on the recommendations of the panel of judges after careful evaluation of research papers and the presentations by the candidates in each category.

The Committee announces the names of the Candidates selected for the awards on the day of the Annual Function which is held in the month of March/April each year.

Candidates who have already been selected for an award previously cannot apply.

Year : 2017-18 Mathematics

Mr. Arka Mallick,

Runner up

Department of Mathematics
TIFR – Centre for Applicable Mathematics, Bangalore.
Project Title: “A Hardy Type Inequality on Fractional Order Sobolev Spaces on the Heisenberg group”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Prof. Kunnath Sandeep


Mr. Rafiq Mulla,

Runner – up II

Department of Physics,
Karnataka University, Dharwad Karnataka.
Project Title: “Copper Iodide: An Eco-friendly Thermoelectric Material”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Prof. M.K. Rabinal


Mr. Abhishek Talapatra,

Runner – up II

Department of Physics
Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad.
Project title: “Tunable Magnetic Domains and Depth-resolved Microstructure in Gd-Fe Thin Films”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Dr. Jyoti Ranjan Mohanty


Ms. Raktima Basu,

Runner – up I

Department of Physics
Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam, Tamilnadu.
Project Title: “Origin of Phase Transition in VO2 and its Applications as Advanced Smart Window”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Dr. Sandip Dhara

Biddha Deka

Mr. Buddha Deka Boruah


Department of Physics
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Karnataka.
Project Title: “Doping Controlled Pyro-phototronic Effect in Self-powered Zinc Oxide Photodetector for Enhancement of Photo response”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Prof. Abha Misra

Rajesh Kotecherlakota

Mr. S M Rajesh Kotecherlakota

Runner – up II

Department of Biology
CSIR – Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad.
Project title: “Recombinant Fusion Protein Loaded Gold Nanoparticles Based Combinatorial Delivery of erbB2 SiRNA and Doxorubicin for the Treatment of HER2+ve Ovarian Cancer”
Name of the Supervisor / Guide: Dr. Chittranjan Patra


Mr. Yogeeshwar Ajjugal,

Runner-up – I

Department of Biotechnology
Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad.
Project Title: “A B–Z junction Induced by an A…A Mismatch in GAC Repeats in the Gene for Cartilage Oligomeric Matrix Protein Promotes Binding with the hZaADAR1 Protein”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. Thenmalarchelvi Rathinavelan


Mr. R Venkatraman,

Runner-up – I

Department of Biotechnology
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Karnataka.
Project Title: “Sirtuin 6 Controls Global Protein Synthesis through Transcriptional Regulation of mTOR Signaling”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. N Ravi Sundaresan


Mr. Sudheesh A P,


Department of Biotechnology Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerela
Project Title: “Nuclear Phosphoinositide Signal Coupled Poly(A) Polymerase Star-PAP Regulates Metastatic Invasion and Tumour Formation”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. Rakesh Laishram


Mr. Manjunathan P,

Runner – up II

Department of Chemistry Poornaprajna Institute of Scientific Research, Bangalore, Karnataka
Project Title: “Mesoporous Tin Oxide: An Efficient Catalyst with Versatile Applications in Acid and Oxidation catalysis” Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. Ganapati V Shanbhag


Ms. Srujana P,

Runner-up – II

Department of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad.
Project Title: “Synthesis of Novel Fluorescent Molecular Materials: Functional Phase Change Materials and Effect of Oriented Assembly on Solid State Emission Enhancement”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Prof. T P RadhaKrishnan


Ms. S Manasa,

Runner-up – I

Department of Chemistry
International Advanced Research Centre for powder Metallurgy and New Materials (ARCI), Hyderabad.
Project Title: “Sol-Gel derived, Smart, Self-Healing Coatings for Corrison Protection of Aluminium Alloy A356.0”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. R Subasri

Sathya Ramalingam

Ms. Sathya Ramalingam,


Department of Chemistry
CSIR – Central Leather Research Institute, Adyar, Chennai.
Project Title: “Sustainable Auxiliaries-free Leather Dyeing process using fabricated Dyes”
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. J Raghava Rao

  Special Awardee
Ramesh Kumar

Mr. R Ramesh Kumar,

Special Award

Department of Biotechnology
Alagappa University, Karaikudi, Tamil Nadu.
Project Title: Micropropagation is a potential tool for simultaneous conservation and production of plant and related pharmaceutics – An experimental approach in Nilgirianthus ciliatus
Name of the supervisor / Guide: Dr. M Ramesh